Home Internet of Things Aerospace Apparel Energy Defense Health Care Logistics Manufacturing Retail

ABRFID Announces Winners of Its 2017 IoT RFID Awards

The first edition of the prize was handed out to companies in three vertical categories, as well as in the GS1 EPCglobal category. In addition, an award was given to an outstanding professional who has helped to develop Brazil's RFID ecosystem.
By Edson Perin
Sep 12, 2017

At this year's Latam Retail Show—held on Aug. 29 to 31, at the Expo Center Norte in São Paulo—the IoT RFID Pavilion of the Brazilian Association of the Radio Frequency Identification Industry (ABRFID) was the site of the first ABRFID Awards (see ABRFID Award to Recognize Companies and Personality in Brazilian RFID Industry). The award debuted in three categories by vertical industry, and in a GS1 EPCglobal category. In addition, ABRFID paid homage to an outstanding professional in the development of the RFID ecosystem in Brazil. The ABRFID Awards were supported by GS1 Brasil.

The winners and honorees of ABRFID's first IoT RFID Award
At the start of the awards ceremony, ABRFID's board unanimously elected Hewlett-Packard's Kami Saidi as the IoT RFID 2017 Personality. The award was granted in recognition of Saidi's pioneering contributions to the development and application of radio frequency identification technologies in Brazil.

Kami Saidi
Under Saidi's vision, HP has adopted RFID from an innovative perspective in the printer production line in Sorocaba, and has encouraged the dissemination of the knowledge acquired through the creation of the RFID Center of Excellence (RFID CoE), which has trained more than 800 professionals to date. Kami, who could not be present at the ceremony, was represented by Marcelo Pandini, a member of his team and another HP professional with a history of achievements in the world of RFID and Internet of Things (IoT) technologies.

ABRFID was represented in this choice by Adriano Franki (of Valid), Reinaldo Andrade (Honeywell), Carlos Ribeiro (SmartX Technologies), Roger Davanso (CCRR) and Pedro Moreira (SmartX). The selection process was followed by Professor Marcelo Lubaszewski, of the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS).

Login and post your comment!

Not a member?

Signup for an account now to access all of the features of RFIDJournal.com!

Case Studies Features Best Practices How-Tos
Live Events Virtual Events Webinars
Simply enter a question for our experts.
RFID Journal LIVE! RFID in Health Care LIVE! LatAm LIVE! Brasil LIVE! Europe RFID Connect Virtual Events RFID Journal Awards Webinars Presentations